The other 1 per cent

Thoughts meander like a
Restless wind inside a letter box
They tumble blindly as they make their way across the universe.

John Lennon, Across The Universe

Friday 005Sometime last week I saw a posting from an acquaintance. He had linked to several Youtube clips of Dr. Neil Degrasse Tyson, one of which appears below. The two thoughts Dr. Tyson introduces have been floating around my conscious and subconscious ever since.

This morning, as I sat in the sunlight on my sofa, drinking my dark roasted French-style coffee, I wondered what would I do if I encountered one of the 1 per centers of whom Tyson speaks? What would I talk about? Anything? No, I’d be speechless, but I would play music for the being, as maybe the 1 per center had already heard these notes wafting around the universe.

I might try to explain how, when I was in high school, I joined the Astronomy Club and went to just two meetings, just enough to get my photo taken for the yearbook. I’d tell how I peered through the telescope but had no clue what I was seeing out “there.” If there was a giggle or if I could detect what passes for a cosmic smile, I’d know we were clicking – especially if I heard what amounted to “Ya know, I did the same thing, except it was with the Carbon-based Life Forms Club in second grade!”

Then, if I were lucky, maybe the 1 per center would play music from that part of the universe for me.

When I wrote about irony and the modern world, I had forgotten to mention the movie Enchanted, which – luckily for me as I love the movie, perhaps the only Disney movie I like – seemingly plays every other day on one of the cable TV channels available to me, as it did on Superbowl Sunday, and so it is fresh in my mind (again). In that movie, the romance-starved character Nancy is introduced to Edward, the fairytale Prince of Andalasia:

Edward:  And this beautiful lady is Giselle, the love of my life. My heart’s true desire.
Nancy (surprised):  Wow.
Edward:  Is something wrong?-
Nancy:  Just the way you said that. So straight-forward. Not a hint of irony. It’s very… romantic.
Edward:  Well, thank you.

My hope would be that the visitor would be no hipster and could appreciate the directness of a Chaplin.

A girl can dream.

Leave a Reply

