Happy

There is a company that every year ranks the happiest countries. And Mexico, that is to say Mexicans, define themselves as one of the top five happiest countries. Always. Sometimes in second place, sometimes in fifth, but Mexico is always there.

Jean Meyer on Mexico: Past and Present

abs

Photo from Francisco Javier Lagunes Gaitán

Some norteamericanos who are long-term residents of the country believe moving to San Miguel (and perhaps elsewhere in Mexico) has added 10 or more years to their lives.  I won’t try to explain it.  I’ll let the statements stand for themselves.

There’s been significant grayness to the skies lately.  Some days there will be an edge of light around the horizon as large dark storm clouds hover above.  I haven’t learned to “read” the clouds, so I don’t know when the rain is actually going to fall and I’m wrong more often than right as it hasn’t rained that often.

The woman renting the house attached to my casita is moving Wednesday and I understand I’ll have the property to myself for the month of July.  We had run out of gas for cooking and heating water a week ago this past Friday and didn’t get gas in the tank until last Thursday.  I’d been able to heat water in other ways, but the convenience of the gas was appreciated all the more after the pilots were lit.

Last Saturday I made it to the organic market and bought bread from the La Buena Vida stand, and to the Santa Cruz dairy store, where I bought milk and yogurt.  There’s something comforting about making these little connections and becoming less dependent on super mercados like Mega.  One of the organic market vendors will create boxes of vegetables, fruits and herbs for one, two, or more people.  You order the box online and pickup the produce at the market – or they’ll deliver it.  In the age of GMOs her little enterprise seems so humane.

Last of the myopic songs:  South of the Border

The least obnoxious of the songs in this series, South of the Border dates from 1939 and this rendition is by Chris Isaak.  The singing cowboy Gene Autry introduced the song in a movie and it’s been recorded many times.

Some of the songs I just couldn’t include:  the misogynistic New Life in Old Mexico by Robert Earl Keen, Montgomery Gentry’s All I Know About Mexico that contains the line “you don’t sneak up on a Habanero pepper and just take a bite,” George Strait’s Blame It On Mexico that has lines such as “Daylight dawned and found me in Del Rio/In a run-down motel room dark as hell” and “Why she left I had no way of knowing/I guess she caught her train and that’s a crime,” and the Texas Tornados Una Mas Cerveza.

Leave a Reply

