Sombrero

You who are on the road
Must have a code that you can live by
And so become yourself
Because the past is just a good bye.

Graham Nash, Teach Your Children Well

On Friday a significant party marking the end of the school year took place at the various schools that dominate our neighborhood.  The students sang
Cielito Lindo (and I had goosebumps when in unison they sang Ay-yay-yay because, to tell the truth, I had never heard the song in that way, with a sense of common pride), then a few other Mexican classics, followed by a smaller group who performed some rock numbers, and then there was a lot of loud, prerecorded music that spanned a number of contemporary genres.  I’ll miss the sounds that emanate from behind those walls and fences.

Somewhat serendipitously I’ve begun volunteering with a program that helps students attend university.  The program is ¡Jóvenes Adelante! and it has a Facebook page.   There’s a planning session scheduled this weekend:  I’ll attend one session, but won’t attend the Sunday session due to my coffee-hour ministry.  I’ll be stepping away from that commitment at the end of July.  The founding of Jóvenes Adelante was led by several women from the UU Fellowship:  they also helped found Mujeres en Cambio (also on Facebook).  Another woman associated with the Fellowship started ¡Ojalá Niños! that helps preschool and elementary school children.

Prior to connecting with Jóvenes Adelante, D had invited me to a birthday party in Jalpa, which I really wanted to attend. Some weeks ago I lost my Chicago Cubs cap and have needed to replace it, so in preparation for being in the sun most of the day, I finally shopped in earnest.  I made it to Mercado Ramirez this week and found a hat.  Giddy at finding something that would sit atop my head something like the bowlers cholas wear in the Bolivian highlands (and chola in Bolivia does not mean the same thing as in LA or Miami), I’ll now have to wear it about town.

When A moved out of the house on Wednesday I felt a sense of … not quite fear … perhaps apprehension and vulnerability.  The house is big and I feel somewhat small on the property and the privada is very quiet and feels isolated at night despite its proximity to centro. I heard from B, who is scheduled to arrive 24 July and so life will change once more.

What I consider the greatest tear-jerker of all time, Camille starring Greta Garbo [1936], is playing at the Pocket Theater Sunday and I’m attempting to organize an outing (or more appropriately to appropriate a softball/baseball term, inning).  So far there are two takers.

During the past month I’ve also offered to volunteer for two cultural venues here:  The Chamber Music Festival and ProMusica. I’m not certain anything will come from those organizations as there might not be a match for whatever talents I might be able to offer.   The Guanajuato International Film Festival takes place in July (venues both here and in Guanajuato) and I’ve offered to house one person.

I’m not certain what all this extroversion means for an introvert, but my focus is shifting away from the U.S.  It has, actually, ever since I moved here and I have a hard time understanding the distress or glee so many ex-pats express at events NoB.  This past week offered much for them, as the four Supreme Court rulings (sexual harassment at the workplace, Voting Rights, DOMA and Proposition 8) and the Texas abortion bill (and subsequent recall of the legislature by the governor) created excitement.  Generating virtually no excitement, however, yet having much greater impact on future history (as it could seriously erode the sovereign-state principle in favor of corporations), the trans-pacific trade partnership is slipping silently into reality as its potential opponents remain unaware of it.

Cielito Lindo

Leave a Reply

