Pulling back

The years between fifty and seventy are the hardest. You are always being asked to do things, and yet you are not decrepit enough to turn them down.

George Eliot

I had to scale back what I was trying to do for Jovenes Adelante. I had taken on too much, and the amount of time needed by the technical projects is enormous in itself; being a member of this and that left no time for me and hardly left time for sleep.  I hadn’t seen my housekeeper in a month and was reduced to leaving her notes.  So I said “no, no, no” and feel ever so much better for it.

My talk at the UUs is scheduled for Sunday, the first of September.  It’s time to review it – the notice of the talk in the newspaper will be published next week.  I gave copy to the person who will put the order of service together. I printed the sheet music and gave it to the pianist,  The only thing left to do is to print the text and to test the computer with the projector – I’ll be projecting some images of cell nuclei and chromosomes and galaxies and people. I’d like to have some people over after the talk, but don’t know that I can put that together.

Leave a Reply

