Independencia

Now that it is September there are banderas, Mexican flags, everywhere.  For sale.  Hanging from homes and stores.  A vendor walks through my neighborhood, laden with banderas large and small, to be hung or waved; he walks past the abuela (grandmother), who every week day, sits at her doorway that is adjacent to the street so she can see better the pepitas or frijoles or vegetable that she is preparing.  Mexican Independence Day is 16 September.

Yesterday I gave my talk at the UU Fellowship and I think it was well-received as two people came up to me after the presentation and asked that I talk to their organizations.  Several others said they had studied biology or psychology or anatomy or early childhood development and were unaware of how much knowledge had been gained in the past 15 or so years.  Others asked that I repeat the talk during the winter, when a different crowd is here.

The presentation itself was full of disasters, large and small.  The woman who was to have led the service died eight days before. The person who said he would show up early to help me set up arrived far later than he normally does.  The order of service was printed incorrectly so that the responsive reading was gibberish nonsense,  The large screen for the projector couldn’t be found; a small screen that might have been used to project 8 mm home movies was located, but the cross piece that held the screen was missing screws, so it couldn’t be used.  The sound system didn’t work.  During the presentation some people complained they couldn’t see the small makeshift screen I had created, so the person who showed up late to help me swooped in to carry away the lectern/podium, and there went my laser pointer, my remote control for the computer, my reading glasses, the light that enabled me to read my presentation, my bottle of water, the surface on which to lay my presentation.  It went downhill from there.  Yet somehow I was able to convey my message.

Today, after walking back from the Jovenes Adelante office I stopped at the Biblioteca for a latte and rebananda of chocolate cake and several people – whom I didn’t know prior to the presentation stopped by and said how much they enjoyed the talk.  It is becoming increasingly more difficult to walk anywhere without running into someone I’ve encountered previously.  That’s part of being in a fish-bowl community in a small town.

If

This is one of the songs I asked be played during the service.

Leave a Reply

