Giulietta

My life is a fault at last, I fear:
It seems too much like a fate, indeed!
Though I do my best I shall scarce succeed.
But what if I fail of my purpose here?
It is but to keep the nerves at strain,
To dry one’s eyes and laugh at a fall,
And, baffled, get up and begin again,—

Robert Browning, Life in Love

Sometimes you think you know someone, and then …

http://www.psmag.com/navigation/health-and-behavior/toast-story-latest-artisanal-food-craze-72676/

The story is Giulietta’s, an acquaintance from San Francisco whose shop, Trouble Coffee, is just up the troublestreet from where my son lived in the Outer Sunset.  Extremely well-written by John Gravois,  the essay starts in one place, then takes you far deeper.  I always knew Giulietta was remarkable, but I never knew just how remarkable.

Sonic Youth

Leave a Reply

