Dogma

You can’t teach an old dogma new tricks.

Dorothy Parker

Two definitions of dogma, from the Merriam-Webster dictionary:

  1. a belief or set of beliefs that is accepted by the members of a group without being questioned or doubted
  2. a belief or set of beliefs that is taught by a religious organization

palm reflectionThe rain continues in myriad ways:  slow drips, deluges, splatters, persistent cloud bursts, with and without wind.  Soon it will be necessary to develop a language of rain.  There are breaks in the dampness, for a few hours, but then it’s back.  There used to be a pattern of late afternoon and evening showers, but now, like the velociraptors in Jurassic Park, the rain has learned new patterns.

The woman who carries the bags of basura (trash) to the truck might have been thrown off her game by the rain as she was late today and I thought she might have forgotten me, so I decided to carry the bags to the truck.  As I stepped away from the gate I heard the “click” signifying the gate had closed and locked and – as I was keyless – I would have to break in, again, when I returned.  After taking the bags to the truck, I went to the vacant lot and found some wire that would serve to lasso the latch.  As I wound my found wire into a breaking-in tool, the woman came to take the trash.  I have a difficult time understanding her and she me, and today I had much to tell:  I was locked out, the family staying in the house had moved away, there was no trash, etc. Unable to comprehend one another, she stared at me and I her, I shrugged, and she walked away accompanied by her teen daughter who was helping her.

No government should

Leave a Reply

