Blogger’s lament

I started this blog back in January 2010, when, arriving in a frozen, grey city I struggled to make some sense of the world I found myself in. I thought the blog would be a good way to capture my first impressions of Budapest, to keep in touch with friends and family and to fill the lonely hours in my garret before I found any sort of social life. And so it proved.

But as time went by the unfamiliar became familiar, the incomprehensible obvious and the challenges routine. …I take my kalap off to people who can keep a blog going month after month, year after year.

Bryan’s Budapest Blog

IMG_1712Today’s photo is of the construction taking place at the site of the Coppel’s department store.  Many ex-pats and a few Mexicanos are dismayed at its construction as it is near the historic district, but not in it.  When I first arrived in San Miguel the gossip was that the store was to be part of the Sanborn’s chain.

This was a week of things not working correctly:  gate locks not locking, hot water not being hot, and telephones malfunctioning.  I tried to order gas via the internet, but sometimes small Mexican companies can be slow to respond, or not respond at all, which is exactly what happened.

I’m headed to Oregon on Monday for two weeks.

Jacaszek, Lament

Leave a Reply

