Our perfect songs

I wish for long lingering glances
Fairytale romances every single day

Amy Macdonald

Picture 065We probably all have a song.  Sometimes it’s a song heard with someone.  Sometimes it’s the song heard alone on Saturday morning when cleaning house or while washing dishes after the guests have left.  Sometimes it’s a song that comes and goes through the years.  Other times it lasts decades, there’s nothing that can knock it off that cherished place on the knick-knack shelf of experience.  The notes or the distinctive sound of the artist keeps your past alive, brings back a face, someone’s smile, shines again on a dark corner.  We’re in the car again with family.  Or a car parked, just the two of you.  Or the car parked, you alone, waiting for song to end before you open the door.  You’re again on the beach at night.  Or with your gang of friends at the beach.  You’re again in the bus, riding home from the airport in the rain, the lone passenger on the last run.  Or you feel the warmth once more from the wood stove during the winter storm.  The song marks a beginning or a breakup.

There are notes, chords, patterns, rhythms that for you, and you only, connect mysteries, bring closure, open curtains.

Ever since sound could be recorded we have been able to experience what previous generations could not: the sound of before. Ever since rock came to dominate sound we’ve kept the echo of our youths alive. Ever since you could listen to anything – jazz, electronic, rock, r&b, folk, Broadway, traditional, movie soundtracks, symphonic, opera – whatever your preference at any moment in time – our lives have become incredibly richer.

And music has let a lot of poor people become richer.

Those songs from our youth.  Those songs that come along into our later lives.  Sometimes there’s a type of song we crave.  Maybe there’s a song reminding us of an experience.  Or a person.  It contains truths.  It tells your truth as if no one in the world has ever understood you.  It explains you better than you can explain yourself.  It rocks.

You can dance to it.  You like the singer because s/he reminds you of someone here … or there … or perhaps only in your fantasies.

The rhythm gets your feet tapping.  You can’t sit still.  You just have to dance.  The song just rocks.

Amy Macdonald, A Wish for Something More

Oh, the sun is shining far too bright
For it to still be night
Oh, the air feels so cold, so cold and old
How can it be light?

Oh, let’s take a walk outside
See the world through each other’s eyes
I wish I was your only one

I think you’re beautiful
But your hair is a mess
And your shoes are untied
But that’s what I love best

And I, I wish I was the one, you lonely, lonely son
And you looked at me that way
I wish for long lingering glances
Fairytale romances every single day

And you look at me and say
I’m your best friend every day
But I wish for something
Wish for something more

Oh, I love you like a friend
But let’s not pretend
How I wish for something
Wish for something more

Now the grass is so green
But I can’t see anything past your eyes
I’m fixated on your smile
Your cherry lips make life worthwhile

I’m thinking these things
What I’m trying to say
Is life gets in my way
Every single day

And I, I wish I was the one, you lonely, lonely son
And you looked at me that way
I wish for long lingering glances
Fairytale romances every single day

And you look at me and say
I’m your best friend every day
But I wish for something
Wish for something more

Oh, I love you like a friend
But let’s not pretend
How I wish for something
Wish for something more

Now the sun is fading
Now the rain is coming down
And I’m looking at your face
And you’re looking at the ground

I see diamonds in your dreams
I see pearls around your neck
I see everything that’s beautiful
Oh, everything that’s beautiful

I wish I was the one, you lonely, lonely son
And you looked at me that way
I wish for long lingering glances
Fairytale romances every single day

And you look at me and say
I’m your best friend every day
But I wish for something
Wish for something more

Oh, I love you like a friend
But let’s not pretend
How I wish for something
Wish for something more

Leave a Reply

