Many a mile (Part A)

I’ve seen your towns they’re all the same
The only difference is in a name
The only home I’ve ever knowed
Was a suitcase and the open road
And it’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
It’s many a mile I have gone

Patrick Sky, Many A Mile

IMG_3426Part B snuck into the mix ahead of Part A.

My son and grandsons now have a cat and a kitten living with them and the kitten and I enjoyed the portion of a morning watching Bob Ross paint.  The kitten particularly enjoyed the Ross technique for painting mountains but lost interest when Ross switched to painting a forest.  It was not the only time Kitty X and I watched a Ross show during this most recent trip to Oregon.

This week is called Trans Awareness Week by some and it includes the Transgender Day of Remembrance, which is marked around the world with vigils.  This year (The Year of Caitlyn Jenner) has seen more transwomen murdered in the United States than any previous year, but the countries with the most trans murders remain Brazil and Mexico (the U.S. being third). Young trans women of color are especially vulnerable to being victims of violence, even moreso than young black men living in the U.S.  Even Portland, Oregon is not immune to hate against young black people and young trans people as was reported by rserven on Daily KOS (At the Corner of Hate and Hate).  Lewis and Clark College is close to my son’s current home.  Some other worthy trans-related writing this week:  Morgan Cohn (Girl On Girl: Fostering The T In LGBT) writing for The Frisky and Nikki Araguz Loyd (somewhat less lucidly) on HuffPost (Trans* Women Are Not Freakshows and Drag Queens: The Problem With the Transgender Umbrella).

In the style of Gabriel Marquez:  I published yesterday’s post (now the day before yesterday’s post), written just after returning from my previous trip to Portland, after I returned from my most current trip. I’ve managed to complete two of the three medical procedures I’ve needed during these trips and the second was performed in Phoenix, AZ where I spent almost a week and am still mystified as to why anyone lives in either the city or the state.  All of San Miguel centro would fit into two or three blocks of Phoenix.  While there might be neighborhoods in Phoenix, there is no such thing as a neighborhood store, at least in the sections of the city I experienced.  They are expanding the light rail network, which is terrific, but the system has simply a north-south axis and one cannot go “cross town” without needing a bus.

I spent some time in the Barnes & Noble store located near the hotel in Phoenix (or was it Peoria or was it Glendale?  I was reminded of the Patrick Sky song).  There were Christmas items for sale (of course) as the holiday was within two months of occurring and surprisingly they were nice (by my definition, of course) and some actually triggered nostalgia. I bought a novel that I actually began to read and that I might finish (Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl).

During the descent of the flight into Mexico City I saw its smog from above for the first time and it blanketed the city in a paler shade of rust than that in the Kitty X photo above. At first I thought it to be a thermal inversion and that may have accounted for the smog being trapped in the valley, but it wasn’t the cause of the low-lying haze.

Another 50-year old song

G and I heard Patrick Sky sing this years ago at the Scarlet Gryphon in Richmond, Virginia. The song was popularized by Buffy Ste. Marie, but she gets her own stage down below.

I’ve damn near walked this world around
Another city, another town
Another friend to say goodbye
Another girl to sit and cry
And it’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
It’s many a mile I have gone

Well, there was one who knew me best
You know she gave my poor heart rest
She was my world, my heart, my dear
Now she’s gone to God knows where
And it’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
It’s many a mile I have gone

I’ve seen your towns they’re all the same
The only difference is in a name
The only home I’ve ever knowed
Was a suitcase and the open road
And it’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
It’s many a mile I have gone

So I’ll fill my glasses up to the brim
And through my glass my world looks dim
But I know outside there’s light somewhere
Maybe my rambling will get me there
And it’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
It’s many a mile I‘ve gone
It’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
And it’s many a mile I will go

Buffy

Many years ago she was kind enough to answer a letter I’d sent her when I was searching for meaning in a situation that confused me.

Leave a Reply

