CATSA

Cats here, cats there,
Cats and kittens everywhere.
Hundreds of cats, thousands of cats,
Millions and billions and trillions of cats…

Wanda Gag, from Millions of Cats

catsaDolores  came today to clean and actually woke me from sleep at 9:30, so I got up to say “hi, tengo enferma” and then went back to sleep. I had a total of 13 hours of the stuff and hope that’s enough to rid me of my cold.  On the bus from Mexico City, in the safety of darkness, I had stuffed my nostrils with white tusks made of tissue: unfortunately there were no poachers around to lop my nose off.

There are times in life when coincidence or serendipity or whatever one chooses to call it is pleasant and others not so much.

A year ago I gave a copy of Millions of Cats to my youngest grandson and he was overjoyed as that’s what he’d like to have:  a million cats.  Years before Garfield, Calvin and Hobbes, and Bill the Cat, before cats like Grumpy took over the internet, Millions of Cats won a Newbery Honor (1929): it’s the oldest American picture book still in print.

Farley wasn’t often on my mind these past months, yet there he was in my thoughts on the day he recently died.

Without its knowing I was in Portland, the dermatologist’s office that had performed a surgery on me last year called to say they’d had a cancellation and could I come in for a follow-up examination.

On the day before I left Oregon for Mexico, the Clinique saleswoman at Macy’s (without knowing I was in town) called to remind me of a sale.

While visiting in Oregon I met a 93-year-old woman who moved with the grace of someone many years younger, who travels internationally every year with her 90-year-old female best friend, and who had lived in many of the same places I had. She was vibrant, witty, and strong enough to carry  her laundry basket to the laundry room and up the stairs to her apartment.

Since my return from the U.S. I’ve been playing Bob Marley’s Is This Love? over and over.  I didn’t tire of it, but then I started listening to Ziggy and the other Marleys. Now the whole Marley catalog has captivated me—maybe more than when Bob Marley was alive.

On her way to Cuba M is visiting her Jamaican friend of many years who now lives in Florida, and that’s likely the reason the Marleys’ music has been on my mind.  Hazel has had a rough go of it in recent years: as she and her husband reached retirement age, the time they thought they would travel extensively, he was hospitalized for a long time after an auto accident, and then he succumbed to his injuries.  He never woke from the coma caused by the accident.  This life is not always.

Exodus

Exodus
Movement of Jah people! Oh oh oh, yeah!

Men and people will fight ya down (Tell me why!)
When ya see Jah light. (Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!)
Let me tell you if you’re not wrong, (Then, why?)
Everything is all right.
So we gonna walk, all right! Through de roads of creation,
We the generation (Tell me why!)
(Trod through great tribulation) trod through great tribulation.

Exodus, all right! Movement of Jah people!
Oh, yeah! Oh, yeah! All right!
Exodus, Movement of Jah people! Oh, yeah!

Yeah-yeah-yeah, well!
Uh! Open your eyes and look within,
Are you satisfied (with the life you’re living) Uh!
We know where we’re going, uh!
We know where we’re from.
We’re leaving Babylon,
We’re going to our Father land.

Two, three, four Exodus, movement of Jah people! Oh, yeah!
(Movement of Jah people!) Send us another brother Moses!
(Movement of Jah people!) From across the Red Sea!
(Movement of Jah people!) Send us another brother Moses!
(Movement of Jah people!) From across the Red Sea!
(Movement of Jah people!)

Exodus, all right! Oh, oh, oh
Movement of Jah people! Oh, yeah!
Exodus!
Exodus! All right!
Exodus! Now, now, now, now!
Exodus!
Exodus! Oh, yeah!
Exodus!
Exodus! All right!
Exodus!

Move! Move! Move! Move! Move! Move!
Open your eyes and look within,
Are you satisfied with the life you’re living?
We know where we’re going,
We know where we’re from.
We’re leaving Babylon, y’all!
We’re going to our Father’s land.

Exodus, all right! Movement of Jah people!
Exodus, movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!

Move! Move! Move! Move! Move! Move! Move!
Jah come to break down pression,
Rule equality,
Wipe away transgression,
Set the captives free.

Exodus, all right, all right!
Movement of Jah people! Oh, yeah!
Exodus, movement of Jah people! Oh, now, now, now, now!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!
Movement of Jah people!

Move! Move! Move! Move! Move! Move! Uh-uh-uh-uh!
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)
Move(ment of Jah people)

Leave a Reply

