Ladle Rat Rotten Hut

There’s a fine line between adventure and pointless struggle

from the Hungary page on expatcareers.com

rrhAlways in admiration of Mad Hatters, I tend to freeze at major decisions, especially when it comes to moving, although I have been impetuous at times.  I’m not a Chicken Little, probably more of a Red Riding Hood: naive, wary due to my naivete, and then having to extract myself from a difficult situation.

To help me with my anxiety regarding a move, a friend once gave me the book Gila Monsters Meet You at the Airport. Years later, I  panicked while on the way to the airport for my move to Mexico; I found a hotel room for a night, then found an apartment-share where, the day after I moved in, there was a knock at the door which my flat-mate answered and I overheard him talk his way out of being evicted. That was terrif for my anxiety.

The book Anguish Languish, a collection of stories and poems by Howard L. Chace was  published in 1956. In his works Chace used his own “language,” which he also called Anguish Languish, Chace believed the intonation of spoken English to be almost as important to understanding as was a word’s actual meaning. He wrote Ladle Rat Rotten Hut (click the link to hear it read and see the text) in 1940 to demonstrate his idea. To boost my relocation anxiety, pronunciation, enunciation, intonation and stress are critically important when speaking Hungarian as mispronouncing “brain” (agy) can lead the listener to hear the word “bed” (ágy).

Sondheim, from Into The Woods

Leave a Reply

