Far-off apartments

Hungarian lifestyle

This can be rather unhealthy.  Hungarians eat a lot, and their food is heavy and spicy.  Many Hungarians smoke and drink but take very little exercise. Quite a few people in Hungary have two jobs in order to make ends meet.

Zsuzsa Pontifex, Complete Hungarian

palm sunday vendorsI’ve been corresponding with a company that rents apartments in Budapest.  There are many, but this particular company rents apartments fully furnished (again, there are many who do this) and their rate is inclusive of utilities, wifi, the building’s common costs, and a few other expenses (which I’ve found to be different from other rental agencies). One pays a premium for this, of course, but it avoids dealing with multiple vendors, something that appeals greatly to me.  In their last email, the price for three apartments was 100 or 200 euros less than the asking price, and on a year’s lease the price is half-that of a one-month’s lease, all of which is still far more than I’d like to pay, slightly more than I’m paying here in Mexico, but the apartments are rather nice, especially for what I’ve seen of Budapest apartments. And there would be space enough for guests, should I have visitors.

D invited me to lunch and we ate with Julie at La Frontera, a spot popular with expats and with good north of the border food with a few Mexican dishes on the menu.  We talked for almost two hours about life in San Miguel and elsewhere, as Julie lived in Europe for a number of years. She grilled me thoroughly about my plans, about my knowledge of continental weather, apartments, visas and the Schengen area and the EU and my knowledge of the language.  D gave me a lovely vest jacket that had been given to her and which is too big for her.

I did a dry run of packing this week, and it looks like everything will fit into the bags that I have, which means I’ll have to pay the airline to take a third checked bag.

That night I dreamt I encountered a friend from years ago, a cartoonist who was with a friend. We were at a BART station but the station was located in Europe. We were standing on the same platform, and we were being filmed from above, the camera looking down at the platform. I thought we were going in the same direction; as we talked he said not to come out, that it would end one’s writing career. Trains from opposite directions arrived at the platform at the same time and we each took a train.

I’ve dealt with my ghosts and I’ve faced all my demons
Finally content with a past I regret
I’ve found you’ve found strength in your moments of weakness
For once I’m at peace with myself

I’ve been burdened with blame, trapped in the past for too long
I’m movin’ on

I’ve lived in this place and I know all the faces
Each one is different but they’re always the same
They mean me no harm but it’s time that I face it
They’ll never allow me to change

But I never dreamed home would end up where I don’t belong
I’m movin’ on

I’m movin’ on
At last I can see life has been patiently waiting for me
And I know there’s no guarantees but I’m not alone
There comes a time in everyone’s life
When all you can see are the years passing by
And I have made up my mind that those days are gone

I sold what I could and packed what I couldn’t
Stopped to fill up on my way out of town
I’ve loved like I should but lived like I shouldn’t
I had to lose everything to find out

Maybe forgiveness will find me somewhere down this road
I’m movin’ on

I’m movin’ on
I’m movin’ on

 

Leave a Reply

