Agenda

I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

William Butler Yeats

2017In previous years I’ve had to buy my date books and agendas in the U.S. because I couldn’t find a source in San Miguel. The other day I asked in Cafe Zenteno if anyone knew where to buy one, and they thought I meant something like a calendar of events. So I thought my it inability to find one was because of the word I was using – agenda, but it was the right word because I decided to look in Mega, the supermarket – which I think is now known as La Comer – and sure enough, there they were. Five or six different styles just a few rows beyond mayo and olives. None was  exactly what I wanted, but all were close enough, so I bought one. The choice seemed to be between small and squatty with lots of pages or tall and thin with far fewer pages. Small and squatty had covers that were far cuter than tall and thin’s plainer covers.

I might be ready for the next step on the Hungary train. Over the weekend I finished the coursework and passed the test for the Teaching English as a Foreign Language Course, then I spent 2+ days working on a model lesson plan and writing a justification for how the lesson plan was structured and turned that in this morning. The lesson plan and its justification are part of the final, so I’ll hear in a week or so whether I’ll get the TEFL certificate.

Yeats


Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Leave a Reply

