Honors

For Mercy has a human heart,
Pity a human face,
And Love, the human form divine,
And Peace, the human dress.

William Blake, from Songs of Innocence

blakeSo  I was in Penny trying to understand why it might be my new favorite place in the world to shop, supplanting Macy’s. Having just passed the oil spout/hair decoration/cello tape display, I was staring at cheeses, not that the store has a gourmet selection, which it doesn’t, but trying to figure out what the non-Edam/Gouda/Parmesan/Emmentalers might be made from, when one of the students, a ninth-grader came up to me, all smiles, and said “Val, Val I’d like to introduce my mother,” and I thought “wow, can there be any greater honor than this?”

Boccherini, from the Cello Concerto in B-flat Major

One thought on “Honors

Leave a Reply

