How not to make coffee

I admit I have a Hungarian temper. Why not? I am from Hungary. We are descendants of Genghis Khan and Attila the Hun.

Zsa Zsa Gabor

A week ago, with an entire free day ahead of me and a desire that’s been building for weeks, I set out to make coffee in The Device. I figured out – or so I thought – the arrangement of parts and where the ingredients – water and coffee – were to go.  That was mistake 1. I hadn’t figured that out.

I set The Device on the stove and I heard hissing and burbling taking place and was certain – or as certain as I was ever going to be that day – that coffee was to be had.

As an aside, I’ve ordered cappucinos – the word is the same in Hungarian as in English, or Italian for that matter – from the snack bar at the school. It’s made slightly differently than other places – even from other places in Hungary – as there’s no cinnamon and there’s a huge dollop of whipped cream that disappears into the espresso as one walks from the snack bar up the one flight of stairs to the office.  It’s a tad sweet, but I’m not complaining, just stating the facts.

These folks who make the cappucino are the same folks who love my way of ordering sparkling water.  I know that “viz” is water, of course. What I don’t know is how to get the rest of the syllables that indicate “sparkling” out of my mouth. So they giggle insanely when I say “spsspss” and flutter my fingers. I caught one of them doing it to ME yesterday before I even placed my order. Maybe with another nine or ten words and three or four followers we’ll be on our way to supplanting Esperanto as the new international language.

Back to the coffee making problem.  I’m listening to the burbling etc. and check the chamber and there is no coffee.  Not enough time, I thought. So I waited quite a bit longer, then checked, and again no coffee but there was a heady amount of steam forming inside the chamber.

So I checked the arrangement of parts and took one out. That seemed to get things going. But it didn’t make coffee.  My Newly Evolved Device took all the water and forced it into the coffee, making wonderfully engaging and significantly sized grounds, but sending no coffee into the chamber. The grounds absorbed ALL the water, leaving none for any other purpose.

I was pretty happy with the progress for the day and called it quits.  I went out for a walk, found the grocery store I’d hoped to find, and got lost on the walk home.

I’m not at all worried about staying busy and finding things to do.

Thoughts after a full week of teaching

Friday:  another gorgeous afternoon and I IMG_4810noticed forsythia in bloom, willows leafing

In one class today we talked about work weeks and I mentioned 5x8s, 4x10s, 3x12s, etc. Then the kids told me about their parents’ weeks:  nurses working 6x12s and holding a second job, in some families both parents work two jobs. They have  got to be thinking “ain’t the free market, the market economy, capitalism great?”

I’ve asked a few classes whether what we’re doing in class works for them.  One student today said that he likes the class because it’s interesting and he’s not bored to death like the rest of his classes. I’ll take that as a vote of confidence, I have no idea how I’ll fill 23 hours each week for the rest of the year.

I want them to watch the videos I’ve put on line (with questions), but I haven’t been able to get them to drink from the well.  They listen intently – the classes grow quiet – when I tell them what’s happening in the scenes they aren’t watching.  We were born to listen to stories.

Mulligan, Flanagan, Tucker, Dorsey, Bailey

Leave a Reply

