Indirectly

My candle burns at both ends;
It will not last the night;
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends–
It gives a lovely light!

My First Fig, Edna St. Vincent Millay

I learned that the previous teacher, a Welshman, might have behaved indiscriminately, perhaps indecorously or even indecently – at least that’s what G hinted at, and she didn’t want to go into details.

And the teacher before that, an American, well he managed to make friends in every bar and pub in town, several per night, most nights.

pansy violetNow I’ve fallen in love with the most delicate, tiniest pansy-violet flower I’ve ever seen.  Every day there’s some new type of flower blossoming, some new tree in bloom. Dandelions are everywhere and they’ve grown from ground cover to six or more inches tall in just a week.

People have switched to t-shirts and tank tops and the weekends see so my people on bikes – even families together – and I’ve only seen one spandex outfit.  This cycling is together cycling, recreational cycling, not an extension of the competitive work week cycling.

One difference between here and Mexico is that I’ve seen no evidence of trash bin stealing here, whereas I noticed trash bins missing from their holders in San Miguel.

I bought my first bottle of wine today, a red, and it was from the top shelf and it cost 1750 forints or about six US dollars – I saw it sold online for 2364 forints.  The wines in the buckets and bins were 399 forints or about a dollar and a half. I haven’t a clue as to the quality of what I bought but it had a rating of 3.9 out of 5 on vivino.

Peaches, cherries and apricots are common fruits – one of the teachers has several apricot trees at her home – and they – at least the apricots – are in blossom, too..  There’s plenty of rye bread, which I love. I’m able to buy thick, broad egg noodles, which I couldn’t in many other places. The supermarkets have all sorts of root vegetables and beautiful cabbages, cauliflowers, kohl rabi, celeriac and some of the skinniest parsnips I’ve ever seen.  Navel oranges from Spain are as juicy as valencias in the U.S. or Mexico.

Water in Hungary is like cheese in France: there must be 365 varieties.

I went to a Penny supermarket in G’s neighborhood and they don’t follow the same crazy stocking policy as the one in my neighborhood, so it’s possible that the air and water are different in my part of the city.

The featured image is of the renovated supermarket next to the school: the “3” is the countdown until it reopens (3 days), just in time for Easter, one of the biggest shopping times (at least for chocolate).  The big question is whether SPAR will let the teachers and staff park in the lot as they previously could; if not, the store may face a boycott.

The first deposit notice of pay (it used to be so easy to say “paycheck”) came today and the arithmetic brings to light Stephen Fry’s quote from his Hungarian grandfather: a Hungarian is the only man who can go into a revolving door behind you and emerge first.

How to make lemonade

Leave a Reply

