Density + (2*lack of information)=?

I love sleep. My life has a tendency to fall apart when I’m awake, you know?

Ernest Hemingway

triptychAt school the energy levels have shifted to panic (over various exams), complete boredom for those who aren’t in bilingual programs and are just satisfying some type of requirement, to attempts at sleeping during class due to sleep deprivation, to excitement over next week’s holiday for the underclass students and the start of finals for the seniors. There have been some leave-taking events already, and the principal looks really stressed and somewhat exasperated as he tries to ready the seniors for Friday’s ceremony in front of the parents.

So, if you were paying close attention (as I haven’t been) you would have detected that there’s no school next week – that follows this week’s holiday and the recent Easter break. What a gig! There were hints that I missed regarding next week: if I’d been clever I would have asked questions, but I did find out yesterday that I have all next week free.

I immediately began checking airfares and I could buy the most inexpensive tickets to the U.S. right now, on short notice. To Oregon:  $800 vs the usual $1100-1500 and $600 to the Bay Area (typically $900 or more). But I’ll be there in just 8 weeks or so. Then I thought of Berlin or Paris or Madrid or Florence or Amsterdam – I could truly use a good dose of art museums about now – but I just can’t get through the logistics of trains, rooms, cabs, buses and flights and all that.

So like my students I’m just going to put my head down and take a nap.

One thought on “Density + (2*lack of information)=?

Leave a Reply

